Server Classes

Server classes are used within Akamai CloudTest to template Server Instances that will be deployed and then torn down in the cloud at test runtime.

Akamai CloudTest provides default server classes for the Test Server, Results Service, and Monitor services.

In most cases, it is not necessary to define new server classes. However, new classes are easily defined based on the default classes. In customization cases, it is recommended to create a new server class, rather than to modify the default classes. Each class accepts new attributes via an Add button.

For Amazon EC2, CloudTest interacts with the standard instance types include: Large Instance, and Extra Large Instance. CloudTest doesn’t use the EC2 Small Instance type. Additionally, CloudTest provides complete support for instances of the EC2 High Performance Computing cloud and all other AWS instance types, including Cluster Compute Quadruple XL, High-CPU XL, High-Memory Double XL, High-Memory Quadruple XL, and High-Memory XL.

All of the above items have corresponding out-of-the-box server classes accessible within CloudTest via the Central > Server Classes list.

Creating a New Server Class
Note: Akamai recommends that you create a new server class for different instance types, rather than modify the default classes.

To get started, select Central list > Server Classes, and then click New. When you do so, the New Server Class dialog box appears.

  1. Enter a name for the new server class. For example, Custom EC2 Test Server Class. This name will appear in the track location drop-down in the Composition Editor.

  2. Enter an optional description. You can use the InstanceType Setting to define large and extra-large Test Server and Results Server instances. The physical limits of these instances varies by the cloud provider.

  3. In cases where it is necessary, specify a different instance type to incrementally increase the compute power available for deployment. This feature is restricted to Administrators only. Typically, if you have no preference, the default Let CloudTest Decide is suitable.

  1. Optionally, select a service in the drop-down from among Maestro, Monitor, and Results and then click Enabled to activate the Known Settings for the given service. For example, Monitor.

Once a server class is defined, it is available for selection in the Grid Manager on the Server Instances screen's Server Class drop-down.

To specify a different instance type for an existing server class
  1. Select Central > Server Classes.

  2. For an existing server class, select it in the Server Class list.

  3. Click the General tab at the bottom of the workspace.

  4. Select a value from the Instance Type list.

  5. Click Save on the lower panel toolbar.

To use a server class in a grid
  1. Create a new grid or open an existing one (Central list, Grids).

  2. In the Grid Manager, Step 2 (Server Instances page), check Show Advanced Settings.

  3. Specify your server class for Test Server (or Results Service instances) in the drop-down for each location defined in the grid.

  4. Complete the grid configuration.

Refer to Managing Grids and Creating a New Grid.

To use a server class in server instances
  1. Use server instances to create a specified number of test servers. To do so, in the Central list, Server Instances, click New. The Start Cloud Instances dialog box appears.

  2. Select your custom server class in the drop-down. Specify a cloud service location, zone and the number of test servers to create.

  3. Click OK.