Every time you edit a stream, you create a new version. This lets you quickly adapt your existing streams to start collecting logs for different properties, modify data set parameters to monitor or change the destinations where they send logs. You can keep track of changes to your stream in the Version history panel accessible from the DataStream control panel.
Each version that you activate becomes a default version for a stream with the same activation status as its base version. For example, editing version 1 of an active stream creates version 2. When you save the new version of an active stream, it activates on the production network by default. For instance, when you edit the version 1 of an active stream, version 2 starts activating on the production network upon saving.
Conversely, by editing version 1 of an inactive stream, you create and activate an inactive version 2 of this stream. When you edit an inactive stream, you can activate it by choosing the Activate stream upon saving option or save the stream to activate later. See Edit a data stream for steps.
The DataStream control panel lets you view and compare all configuration versions within a stream, but you can only manage the activation status of the latest version. You also can't revert a stream to any previous version.
On the DataStream main page, you can access the version history panel for a stream by selectingnext to the relevant stream.