Software upgrades

A software upgrade includes major or minor updates to ETP Client. A major upgrade contains significant changes to ETP Client, such as new features, enhancements, or changes to the architecture. A minor update includes some changes to ETP Client, but it does not introduce new features or significantly alter existing ETP Client behavior.

A major software upgrade is usually released in ETP with a beta tag to indicate that it’s still in beta. This allows administrators to test the new version of the client and review it before it’s generally available for deployment across an enterprise.

To learn how a major or minor update is specified in the ETP Client version number, see ETP Client version number convention.

After downloading and testing a new version of the ETP Client software and approving it, an ETP administrator can choose from an option that forces an upgrade on end-user machines or an On Demand option that allows end users to select whether they want to immediately install the upgrade or be reminded at a later time.

While this setting applies to all future upgrades, an IT administrator must manually install or distribute an ETP Client version that supports auto-upgrade (versions later than 1.2.2). After an auto-upgradeable version of the client is deployed on end-user machines, future software upgrades occur automatically based on administrator approval and the selected upgrade settings in ETP.

An ETP administrator can also view the status of an upgrade or ETP Client version.

These statuses are available:

Statuses
Status Description
Download, Test, and then Approve Indicates that you must download, test, and approve the ETP Client upgrade or patch. After testing the client, you can approve the update in ETP. For more information, see Approve ETP Client.
Note: The "Download Pending" status appears for ETP Client versions 1.2.2 and earlier that are not yet downloaded. To benefit from the latest ETP Client features, including auto-upgrade, make sure you download, test, and approve the latest version.
Approved Indicates that ETP Client was approved and is ready for distribution.

You can select to force an upgrade or you can select On Demand to give end users the choice to install it immediately or be reminded within 1 day, 3 days, or 7 days. Based on this selection, once a new ETP Client version is approved, an end user is either upgraded or prompted to install an upgrade.

If you select to roll back an upgrade, you must also approve the previous version before the client can roll it back. For more information about rollback, see ETP Client software rollback.

Downloaded Indicates that an ETP Client version was downloaded and is no longer supported.

An IT administrator can download a CSV report with detailed information to determine which clients failed to upgrade and why. For more information, see the Download ETP Client CSV report help topic.