Purge permissions

To refresh specific cached objects or remove all objects by URLs, content provider CP codes, cache tags, and cache keys across the Akamai edge network, the appropriate permissions are required.

Default user roles

Here are the default user roles to refresh specific cached objects or remove all objects.
Purge by User default role
Cache tag Admin only
CP code Admin and Publisher
URL Admin and Publisher
Cache key Admin and Publisher
Directory and file extension Admin and Publisher

Publisher role

By default, the Publisher role has permission to purge content by CP code, URL, Cache Key, directory and file extension.

Administrator (Admin) role

By default, the Admin role has permission to purge content by cache tag, CP code, URL, ARL, directory and file extension. The Admin is the only role that can purge content by cache tag. Other default roles (including Publisher) cannot purge by cache tag unless authorized by the Admin.

For roles associated with individual users that want to purge content by cache tag, the Admin can assign a separate granteable Fast Purge by Cache Tag permission to the roles.
Attention: An Admin or Publisher for a group can only purge content with CP codes and URLs within their group. This is not the case when purging content by cache tag. Admins can purge content by cache tag that they otherwise wouldn’t have the ability to purge. Before assigning Fast Purge by Cache Tag permission to users in a group, coordinate with other Admins to avoid conflicts, and follow best practices for namespacing cache tags.

Alternatively, Admins can enable purging by cache tag and CP code for API clients.