Personal Folder

Your Personal Folder is your own individual folder within Customer Insights: this is the place where, as a general rule, Dashboards or Looks that you create are stored. (Users will invariably create Dashboards or Looks in their personal folder: only Administrations can create Dashboards or Looks in the Shared folders folder.)

We should probably note that this folder isn’t actually called “Personal Folder.” Instead, the name is based on your user account first name and the word “folder.”. For example, a user named Ken Myer will have a Personal Folder named, well, Ken Myer’s folder

Perhaps best of all, your personal folder can truly be personal: you have the ability to determine whether or not other users can access the folder, and what type of access they have. (Although this does not apply to administrators: administrators always have full access to all folders.) By default, only you (and Customer Insights administrators) have access to your personal folder. However, you can give other users access to the folder by completing the following procedure:

  1. From your personal folder, click the Settings icon and then click Manage Access.
  2. In the Manage Access dialog box, click Add group or user, and then click the name of the group or the individual user that you want to give access to:
  3. If you want to give the user or group View permissions (i.e., read-only permissions), simply click Add to add the user or group to the permissions list.
  4. If you want to give the user or group the Manage Access, Edit permissions (i.e., read/write permissions), click View, click Manage Access, click Edit, and then click Add:
  5. Repeat the process as needed. When you have added all the users and groups that you want to give access to, click Save.

When you give a user access to your folder, that folder appears when he or she clicks on the People folder:

If you later decide to revoke access, then complete this procedure:

  1. From your personal folder, click the Settings icon and then click Manage Access. In the Manage Access dialog box, click the Remove button (the X) next to the name of the user or group whose access is being revoked:
  2. Repeat the process as needed. When you have finished removing users and groups, click Save.

After access has been revoked, those users or groups will no longer see your personal folder in the People folder:

As long as we’re on the subject, when clicking the Settings icon you might have noticed another option (Set as your default folder):

This option makes it easier for you to locate your personal folder, something that can be useful in an organization with many folders.

By default, Shared folders is the default folder. That’s why Shared folders appears in the left navigation pane:

If you choose the Set as your default folder then your personal folder will appear in the navigation pane instead:

If you’d prefer to go back to the default setting, simply click the Settings icon and then click Remove as your default folder.