Deleting a Saved Filter

Filters can be deleted at any time by completing the following procedure:

  1. Click the Search profiles field to display the search history/saved filters list.
  2. In the list, click the name of the filter than you want to delete. The filter is displayed in the Guided Search pane:
  3. Click the Searches and Filters icon and then click Delete selected filter:
  4. In the Are you sure you want to delete this saved filter? message box, click Delete.

As long as we’re on the subject, you might have noticed the trash can icons in the Guided Search section. Based on that, you might have thought, “Hey, I bet that’s how you delete a saved filter.” As it turns out, however, the trash can icon doesn’t delete filters; instead, it deletes individual clauses from a filter. For example, suppose we have a filter with two clauses, one clause for the created attribute and the other for the primaryAddress.country attribute:

If you click the trash can icon next to the primaryAddress.country clause, that clause is deleted:

However, the filter itself remains, and the remaining trash can icon is now disabled. Why? Because we only have one clause left in our filter, and you can’t have a filter that doesn’t have at least one clause.