Delete an Upload Directory

You can delete an empty upload directory (”CP code”), or use two-person verification to delete a non-empty upload directory.

You can delete an individual upload directory, but you can also delete an entire storage group if needed.

What upload directories can I delete?

You can delete any upload directory that meets this criteria:

  • Storage groups must have at least one upload directory. You can't delete the last upload directory in a storage group.
  • Empty upload directories: You can delete an empty upload directory directly. You can’t undo the deletion of an empty upload directory, it's immediate and no longer available in the UI or API.
  • Non-empty upload directories: Deleting non-empty upload directories requires a two-step process to prevent accidental deletion of data.

Procedure to delete an upload directory

Use these steps to delete an empty upload directory:

  1. If necessary, select the Storage Groups entity.
  2. Locate the applicable storage group in the table. If you know it, you can type its name in the Filter field to limit results in this table.
  3. Click Edit from the Actions menu.
  4. Locate the Upload Directory targeted for deletion.
  5. Click Delete from the Actions menu.

Procedure to delete a non-empty upload directory

To prevent accidental deletion of non-empty upload directories, a second person must perform a delete action on the same upload directory.



Approving the deletion a non-empty upload directory

The second user can use the NetStorage UI or API to complete the secondary delete action. For assistance deleting a non-empty upload directory contact your account representative.

  1. If necessary, select the Storage Groups entity.
  2. Locate the applicable storage group in the table. If you know it, you can type its name in the Filter field to limit results in this table. The storage group will display italicized and red to show it's marked for deletion.
  3. Click Approve Delete from the Actions menu.

Cancel the deletion of a non-empty upload directory

You can cancel the request to delete a non-empty upload directory before the second user has confirmed the deletion.

  1. If necessary, select the Storage Groups entity.
  2. Locate the applicable storage group in the table. If you know it, you can type its name in the Filter field to limit results in this table.
  3. Click Edit from the Actions menu.
  4. Locate the Upload Directory targeted for deletion.
  5. Click Cancel Delete from the Actions menu.