Delete a Storage Group

You can delete an empty storage group, or use two-person verification to delete non-empty storage groups.

What storage groups can I delete?

You can delete any storage group that meets this criteria:

  • Empty storage groups: You can delete empty storage groups directly. You can’t undo the deletion of an empty storage group, it's immediate and no longer available in the UI or API.
  • Non-empty storage groups: Deleting non-empty storage groups requires a two-step process to prevent accidental deletion of data.

Procedure to delete an empty storage group

These steps delete the entire storage group:

  1. If necessary, select the Storage Groups entity.
  2. Locate the applicable storage group in the table. (If you know it, you can type its name in the Filter field to limit results in this table.)
  3. Click Delete from the Actions menu.

Procedure to delete a non-empty storage group

You can delete the entire storage group, or you can try deleting an upload directory. To prevent accidental deletion of non-empty storage groups, a second person approve deletion by performing a delete action on the same storage group.



Approving the deletion of a non-empty storage group

The second user can use the NetStorage UI or API to complete the secondary delete action. For assistance deleting a non-empty storage group contact your account representative.

  1. If necessary, select the Storage Groups entity.
  2. Locate the applicable storage group in the table. (If you know it, you can type its name in the Filter field to limit results in this table.) The storage group will display italicized and red to show it's marked for deletion.
  3. Click Approve Delete from the Actions menu.

Cancel the deletion of a non-empty storage group

You can cancel the request to delete a non-empty storage group before the second user has confirmed the deletion.

  1. If necessary, select the Storage Groups entity.
  2. Locate the applicable storage group in the table. (If you know it, you can type its name in the Filter field to limit results in this table.) The storage group will display italicized and red to show it's marked for deletion.
  3. Click Cancel Delete from the Actions menu.