Considerations when using "quick-delete"

If using "quick-delete" with ObjectStore (NS4), the following considerations apply.

This action is disabled by default

The quick-delete action is disabled by default for security reasons, as it allows complete, recursive removal of non-empty directory structures. (This is in place to protect against inadvertent deletions of potentially unknown content.) You enable this functionality on a per storage group basis during storage group creation or by editing an existing group.

Note:
  • You may not have access to all settings associated with the creation of a Storage Group (including the Quick Delete switch). Even if you do, it is recommended that you contact your Account Representative for assistance with this functionality.
  • This functionality in the NetStorage Groups UI also enables “quick_delete” support in the NetStorage Usage API. (Enabling it for use with the CMShell use will also enable it for the Usage API.)
The Quick Delete switch button is available in the Upload Directory settings for a Storage Group

The actual deletion may take some time

The actual deletion occurs in the background with ObjectStore Storage Groups. If a large number of files have been targeted, the deletions may take a significant amount of time to complete.

Objects targeted for quick-delete may still be accessible

Taking the previous point into consideration, a targeted file or directory will exist until the deletion of that object can fully complete. Until the actual delete, it will still be accessible, and served if requested.

Newly uploaded content will not be deleted

If you have targeted a file with a quick-delete that hasn’t been deleted yet, and you upload a new version of the file that overwrites it, this new version will not be deleted.

There is no alert that a quick-delete has completed

With ObjectStore quick deletes taking longer, this may be an issue. You can use the stat or list calls to view directories to check status.

“undeletion” is not supported

When performing a quick-delete from an ObjectStore Storage Group, targeted content cannot be recovered. Once issued, content will be permanently removed.

What's the difference between the “quick-delete” and “delete” actions?

While the actual delete performed by a quick-delete may not be quick, this action allows you to target a complete directory (and recursively delete all of its contents—both files and sub-directories—with a single instance of this action). The standard delete action allows you to target a single, specific object to be deleted. (And, in the case of a directory, it must be empty.)